Interior Design Heaven

My mind was racing this morning pondering the best way to open my post.  Last night I met the WHO’s WHO in interior design and photography.

While I am not a ga ga kind of gal over people-Dogs,trees, musicians and good ole chintz-yes,yes, yes!  I would rather be seated next to the nerdy science geek or WWII veteran any day over a fancy smachy Us Weekly person of the moment..But throw in a celebrated magazine editor of the old days of magazine divinity  AND an insanely talented photographer? Pull out your autograph books! Giddy with delight is an understatement when I saw the who’s who of fabulousness standing by the front door at a party I attended last night.

Claiborne Swanson, a bombshell of a beauty ,author and photographer of the book AMERICAN BEAUTY , hosted a small summer soiree last night in her Beverly Hills home.14-Claiborne-7837_151159588030-682x1024

The Swanson girls are some of my favorite people on the planet. I will be shallow and mention their incredible good looks.. But the real beauty oozes  out of all of them the minute you start a conversation. We gab about the wonderment of life, babies, work and fun and everything in between. These sisters always have something positive to say and it is usually about an idea or an interest and always spoken with kindness. I have met their mother, Elizabeth , and I know she is responsible. Therefore , with three of my own girls, I strive to recreate whatever she did right. Authenticity appears to trump all things material and I love this about them.

Now moving on to the hot ticket in the house.  Douglas Friedman,the photographer, was in my presence.

cd86b29c516d922ab1b9dcce5be8c8d8

My friend Nena and I decided we may  just hide in his mustache and go along with him to the next party. As most of you know his work as an interiors photographer, he is equally fabuloso in fashion and lifestyle. I squeal with delight when I open a magazine to see that he is the photographer. As busy as he is ,the best homes require his touch so you know that the spread will be special.

e0ebdd8b42c64c39957ab74f1c9a8571

Douglas Friedman

cba1bb61228ea84379fe5797158eaa70

Douglas Friedman

6d9b35f9b14d60778fc12a52d96da7c7

Douglas Friedman. He can make anything look beautiful. Check out his blog the Facinator.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

b1a71e0cfd5152922b46b9497d365f5c

Douglas Friedman

9241a0d373e392dbe67d773ff471f5b0

Douglass Friedman

f2d207fb6498100ec211c96bee893a86

Douglas Friedman

c5e69d76ea4935cba80da08dcaf6b9d0

Douglas Friedman

232258b35c7ba9ad3d3604dc74d1010f

Douglas Friedman

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Claiborne married James Frank, Cynthia’s son.  James could have been James Bond in any movie, in any year, if you get my drift.

VERONICA BEARD Spring 2013 Presentation

Cynthia was an editor at House and Garden-ahhhhh. those days..  Cynthia is responsible for making magic with some of the worlds most artistic and unique homes by placing them upon pages in the top magazines from House and Garden days  to Elle Decor and Town and Country.  I devour my old House and Garden magazines on a weekly basis. Tattered and dog eared, they are  peppered all over my cottage in Newport RI. And every year, I find something new to adore in the same magazine I have been reading for years.

Cynthia was kind and chic and I would pay money to follow her around for weeks on end. Here is some of her personal work. We are all fortunate to have her producing shoots that we read in Elle Decor at the moment.

Claiborne-Swanson-Frank-LivingRoom

This was Claiborne and Jame’s home in New York and Cynthia helped design this.  Her home in Beverly Hills has  many of the same furnishings with the help of her adorable cousin,Nena Woolworth. Claiborne’s house is deliciously simple and inviting. Photography and family photos are her main event. And the house was impeccably neat but I felt I could relax here and dive into art books for hours on end.

08-Cynthia-Frank-EDC-05-13-lgn

Cynthia’s Home in South Hampton . Haynes Roberts collaborated with Cynthia. I love this duo of design team. One of my favorites by far.

12-Cynthia-Frank-EDC-05-13-lgn

 

 

Cynthia-Frank-ELLE-Decor-Loggia

The floor plan of this room is close to genius in my opinion.

 

03-Cynthia-Frank-EDC-05-13-lgn

The one blue chair? The blue chair is bold and brave amongst his monochromatic friends.

elsie-de-wolfe-house-and-garden

House and Garden Magazine. Elsie de Wolfe

202c0f0c39ffcbf5f09fbef63d663099

House and Garden

11. mathilde  agostinelli bedroom

House and Garden Mathilde Agotinelli bedroom. Oberto Gigli

20091028_retro1

1961 House and Garden photograph

P212-3

Oberto Gigli . I adore this photograph

11. elsie de wolfe house and garden

Elsie de Wolfe House and Garden

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

