Simple Saturday Happiness

This is Eloise at age 2 running through the front yard on 4th Street

This is Eloise at age 2 running through the front yard on 4th Street

This never happens unless we have guests

This never happens unless we have guests but I thought it was a pretty way to start the day on a blog.

I woke up around 5:45 this morning worried about two things-Was there enough milk for my coffee and what can I blog about today. Last night I read that one should blog often with the truth in mind . I am taking this advice and will write about how happy I am it is Saturday. Really happy!

I woke up a tad hung over from a cosmopolitan I drank after a tennis game . This is a drink I never drink and was wondering why as I sluggishly walked downstairs around 5:50 am. When I saw their was enough milk for me ( selfish wife ) and I did not have to go to the store I skipped around the house and turning off all the exterior lights. I am a scaredy cat at night.. Yes, I think there is a boogie man and I go into an irrational lock down mode at my house every night with alarms and far too many lights on.

4th Street in April

4th Street in April

195715-1-05

Which brings me to my home. I love my house the most on the weekends. And when I do not compare ( as a designer it is so easy to do this) I feel so blessed to have this life.   I know these are the best years. I know my children will grow up before my eyes. I know I am lucky I met Luke. I still have dreams of myself in New York, desperately trying to find a husband and dating around and thinking each guy could be the one. What a ding dong! Talk about desperado… I have plenty of friends who are not married and marriage does not suit everyone. And many of my friends will meet the loves of their lives at another age. And, sometimes, when Luke and I argue , I imagine my getaway plan and being single at 45. This may entail a boob job but things could be worse..

It is easy to be in a honey moon phase when  your children are 2, 4 and 7.  Most days I just stare at their little hands, their small perfect teeth and smell their heads until they tell me to stop.  While there are days  I think child services could come and get me for being a bad mom I think I am much better than I would have been younger-Time starts to zoom by in your 40’s.

We live in Hancock Park in Los Angeles. My neighborhood resembles any other neighborhood that could be in the mid west, the south ,or New England ( Sort of. )These are some of the nicer houses in my neighborhood and I have made sure to exclude the really tacky bad ones with turquoise gates and too many fake columns.

 

Our house was the worst house on a rather nice block. This is our house when we bought it. And that is Bear and Lilah. My first two children.

DSC_0009 imagebuilder-ptop.asp DSC_0005

 

 

It was a tear down and we were the only bidders who were not going to tear it down.

 

 

 

Luke was in London and our dear friend and realtor, Barry, called me and told me he found our home. We had stopped looking because everything was so expensive in Santa Monica. Luke surfs so he wanted to live there. I loved Hancock Park because it reminds me of the south. At first site of the broken down white stucco and columns that reminded me of University of Virginia, I told Barry we wanted it.

Luke said yes site unseen. Keep in mind this broken down house was a stretch for us and Luke said yes for me not because it was an easy purchase. He told me he trusted me on this as I could see through the rubble of the house. It also resembled my grandfathers home on Chesapeake Bay affectionally named Cedar Point-

Cedar Point

Cedar Point

The transformation took a year and it is always ongoing as you can witness from this post.

This house was a chauffeurs quarters to a larger home that sits in front of ours. These were the steps that led to the little bedroom that was basically the whole house.

This house was a chauffeurs quarters to a larger home that sits in front of ours. These were the steps that led to the little bedroom that was basically the whole house.

2865-1310286693

I sold these chairs and table on One Kings Lane when I needed some cash . I hope they found a happy home.

195715-14-06

Pool house on a clean day

Pool house on a clean day

blue-striped-walls-pillows-0311-sommers07-xl

This is the old garage that we converted for Lukes office.

This is the old garage that we converted for Lukes office. This is all sunbrella fabric which I bought in two shades of pink. The furniture came from the Brimfield flea market and is quite delicate and pretty. It was $275 for everything. Not so comfortable I have to admit. 

 

Back yard before playhouse and kids

Back yard before playhouse and kids

DSC_0440

 

My house looks much better at night because our coping around the pool is still from the 50's.

My house looks much better at night because our coping around the pool is still from the 50’s.

We never changed the pool.  You can get a great exfoliation on your feet if walk on the bottom..

We never changed the pool. You can get a great exfoliation on your feet if walk on the bottom..

 

DSC_0423

Los Angeles weather can not be beat on days like this.

DSC_0424

The boxwood planters are now filled with hydrangea.

And now for my favorite photos of real life on 4th street-

Posey picking beets

Posey picking beets

IMG_4804

This was this morning. Skateboards and an ugly pool fence are the look of the day.

IMG_0181

Eloise and Luke about 3 years ago

195715-2-02

Bailey and Posey in their play house ( back patio )  with their toys ( ladder and hose)

Bailey and Posey in their play house ( back patio ) with their toys ( ladder and hose)

94210006

Eloise as a little girl

Eloise playing by pool

Eloise playing by pool. This is all black and white film. I get so excited to get it developed and see what happens. I find it more gratifying than the instant photo that you can retake and retake. But I do love my iPhone so I enjoy both worlds of photography.

98680019

Have a wonderful last day of May! We will never have this day again so enjoy your Saturday!

 

5 thoughts on “Simple Saturday Happiness

  1. Millicent Black

    I am loving your blog and the behind-the-scenes look at your life. 😀 I am a southern mama of four. I did some decorating but did not start my company until I was pregnant with my oldest, who is now 13. Now, with my youngest being 11 months, I would be thrilled just to finish my own house! Ha ha. I am almost 45 and so identified with today’s post. Keep up the great blogging!

    Reply
    1. ruthiesommers Post author

      Four? Should I do it? I am 44.. I heard it is crazy town.I get confused on what to write about-design or mommy? they are mixed now right?
      Thank for you reading! I may do this for a year. Maybe I should I have called it=Diary for A Year..I love any tips on what you would want to read about.

      Reply
  2. Ruthi

    What a beautiful house! 🙂 I rent a tiny 2 bedroom flat and it’s just me and my 2 little ones (2 and 6 years old). I can only dream of buying my first home but design is still important to be. I really like blogs that mix design and mummy posts so please do more of both!

    Reply
  3. Anne {Almost Home}

    It is such a treat to discover your blog (through Kate Collins Interiors)! I have read all of your posts and enjoyed them all so much. Anytime someone with great talent wants to write and share with the world, I am ready to read and soak it up! 🙂 I have to ask–did you attend the University of Virginia? I wondered because of your comment about the columns at your house 🙂 My husband and I both graduated from UVA and are currently living in Davis, CA (about 1.5 hours north of San Fran) while he fulfills a commitment to the Air Force to pay them back for his dental school scholarship. I am a mama to three little ones who happens to also be obsessed with design and decorating my home 🙂 So looking forward to reading more from you!

    Reply
    1. ruthiesommers Post author

      This is so cool to connect like this. Yes, I graduated in 1992. Your blog ADORABLE.Moving must be hard but also fun to a degree. In the end our homes mean so much, yet they do not right? Air Force? That is even cooler and more adventurous than anything I know anyone to be doing. Congrats on a healthy life with three children. I feel so blessed but I am not enjoying working while I watch them play with a babysitter or nanny. That part is difficult. Stay tuned and thank you for writing. Best
      Ruthie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

