Friday Favorites

2a6deba089c5a56b7e1457bc5e365943a8eaa481ac2beb464b623f03653ecee4Blogging 101 information clearly states in order to hook readers, one should make lists, create specials days of the week that showcase the same kind of posts and stay consistent. Consistent is not in my vocabulary. If it were, well, I would not be here.  I know I am so mentally unorganized, verging on serious ADD , that I worry I could not keep it up. My sister said yesterday to me, “You know you should do something every Tuesday or Friday kind of thing.. ” I am taking her advice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today is Friday Favorites. I read some quotes on the Huffington Post from commencement speeches this morning and they all inspired that Hear Me Roar side of me..  This little voice goes missing as much as my keys and phone do but when it calls-I need to listen.

Technicolor is how I see the world.  Lordy, I wish I could design that perfect creamy white room in my own home-I am starting a job now that will be as serene as a sunset.. But for now, today-I celebrate that wild side of me as I am thrilled I made it though one week of a writing a blog. I may fail or get bored. I am constantly challenged because I have realized that I use the word chic and fabulous far too often. This quote by Dr Seuss below is one of my favorites.59c3f040b40f6c7455233c044e207a24

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We can only really be ourselves to standout.  I tried to be someone else when I injected my upper lip with collagen when I was 35.  I thought I looked younger and probably prettier.. I remember skipping down Madison Avenue holding ice to my upper lip. At a rehearsal dinner the following night, I was asked if I  had bitten my lip by my dinner partner when we were laughing with one another.  So here I am with liver lips and I use too much color and I am a bad speller. Time to celebrate it all.35e8489e0611206f5af7ad2881912532

c984e30efa788505ba688a5514f238a4

– Here is to banning self doubt, rocking out as a girl, a woman, a mom, and friend to music and  the colors of summer this weekend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is “Girlfriend by Phoenix

Zadie Smith

“Walk down these crowded streets with a smile on your face. Be thankful you get to walk so close to other humans. It’s a privilege. Don’t let your fellow humans be alien to you, and as you get older and perhaps a little less open than you are now, don’t assume that exclusive always and everywhere means better. It may only mean lonelier. There will always be folks hard selling you the life of the few: the private schools, private plans, private islands, private life. They are trying to convince you that hell is other people. Don’t believe it.”

8d5b8836fed7c40a08dc4d04db993f3c

Thank you to my mother for making me write thank you notes.

 

fdeaec3468e62393a69d36060c1bad6a

Thank you to clients who allow me to use color unapologetically.

 

7ec150a875515b56257b69581a6e20bf

Thank you Claire DeJardins for throwing color on a canvas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ann Marie Slaughter-

On competition- This is for people who are always busy– Ann says “suggest to them that they must be very inefficient workers. Pity them for not having enough depth and breadth to get a life… Stand up for play — for the leisure that will renew and recharge you. Stand up for love. Stand up for each other, and equally importantly for those who do not have the privilege that you do. Stand up for their right to have a life of meaningful work that earns them a living and the time and resources to enjoy their lives.”

9abc414410fc9129125280d7c16b7e41

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I LOVE THIS QUOTE. I told anyone that would listen how busy I was for about three years.  Secretly I felt empowered saying those words.. Oh I have so much work.. Humble brag?.. It is ok to tell your husband this.. But not everyone you see.   Well guess what Ruthie? Everyone is busy .. And maybe, it is not that cool to be busy.  And now,  I say exactly that to everyone.. people say.. You must be so busy.. My answer is that everyone is leading a busy life and no I am not but thank you so much for thinking so. It actually works in my head and I start to relax a little. Here is to standing up to play and creating time and not being so busy.

c125db49c58d1ed730e4e3b47bf64e6c

Thank you to those people who are trying to farm small and know that the oceans and animals and the animals and what we eat is all connected.

461ea164d93a474ff2866025ba101896

Here is to color making me happy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2075c758838bd8a88b415135a136c2ca

Here is to knowing I will never make this

Cecile Richards

“If you hold out for an invitation, chances are good you’ll miss the party. And by the party I mean life. Growing up, Mom always told me: The answer to life is yes. This is the only life you have so make the most of it

 

 

 

 

Susan Wojckici ( YouTube CEO)

“Life doesn’t offer you the perfect opportunity at the perfect time. Opportunities come when you least expect them … Rarely are opportunities presented to you in a perfect way. In a nice little box with a yellow bow on top. ‘Here, open it, it’s perfect. You’ll love it.’ Opportunities — the good ones — are messy, confusing and hard to recognize. They’re risky. They challenge you.

 

Billie Jean King

“This is the century of women. And don’t you forget it.”

This is Lorde-Tennis Court

I encourage everyone to turn off the AC, open the windows and listen loudly..

 

 

Leave a Reply

