Peter Marino

item0.rendition.slideshow.peter-marino-hamptons-gardens-01-azaleas

Peter Marino’s Hampton Retreat is one of the most beautiful gardens I have seen ( only on the pages of AD no less). .  I am often told by my dear friend and landscape architect, Shannon Cushing,  that there is no such thing as an instant garden when she brings over my minuscule looking 5 gallon plant-. And this is the most pristine example of labor, love and creativity.  ( Architectural Digest ) Photography credit-Jason Schmidt

 

 

This is the purple garden. The fountain, purchased in France by Peter,  is surrounded by rhododendrons. How chic! Purple is my favorite color. I have loved purple since I was in elementary school. When I came home from camp one year my mother had my bathroom painted aubergine. While it was not the striking lavender or the pinky purple I adored-I thought this was very forward. She then had my best friends mother, Lulie Mallard, paint pale green celadon bows over the doors and small detailed renderings of shells everywhere. How I wish I had a photo of that bathroom..

This is the purple garden. The fountain, purchased in France by Peter, is surrounded by rhododendrons. How chic! Purple is my favorite color. I have loved purple since I was in elementary school. When I came home from camp one year my mother had my bathroom painted aubergine. While it was not the striking lavender or the pinky purple I adored-I thought this was very forward. She then had my best friends mother, Lulie Mallard, paint pale green celadon bows over the doors and small detailed renderings of shells everywhere. How I wish I had a photo of that bathroom..

 

 

item2.rendition.slideshowHorizontal.peter-marino-hamptons-gardens-03-boxwood-hedges-garage

I can not imagine strolling down this walkway in the early morning dawn in the spring. How glorious! American Beauty roses surround Bartlett pear trees and herbs. When I started reading the text, which I do not always do in AD ( sometimes the name dropping and provenance this or that gets distracting ) I learned that Peter Marino drives a “mean tractor”.. While I am not sure what this means exactly I read on to discover that his hair stands on the back of his neck if he sees a hedge leaf out of place. Well, Peter, you should scoot on over to my house with my dying boxwoods and fledging roses.. You may collapse on first site. But he redeemed himself by the end of article when he purposely added a splash of “vulgarity” and planted a cutting garden saturated with gladiolas. “Nobody grows them because people do not want to be accused of having bad taste, So I have acres of them” Now that is cool ,Peter!

item1.rendition.slideshowHorizontal.peter-marino-hamptons-gardens-02-greenhouse

 

Leave a Reply

