Vienna

– Before you read this I realize this song may sound cheesy given this post topic- I am not trying to sensationalize this little post. The song is beautiful regardless but I was listening to this on the plane yesterday before I came home to find out this news-so it feels ok to share.

But my story is sad. VIenna died yesterday. She was hit by a car when I was coming back from visiting my clients home in Lake Forest, Chicago. Vienna was our fourth dog and such an adorable, dear scared little rescue. She followed me everywhere. When I left the house she would sit in my old green velvet fauteuil louis xvi chair waiting nervously for me. The tears keep coming and I can not help remembering yesterday and the awful events. I got to the doctor too late. She died in the waiting room.
What she was thinking in her last moments? Maybe she had a choice and decided heaven was better with more treats and constant companions? My spiritual side is trying to make sense of the lesson of her soul somewhere in this. It would be so easy to say that this is life and we all have a cycle. But she was only five and she was finally with a family and mother that loved her. My heart hurts as it does when you loose anything special. I hope she did not suffer and where ever she traveled to-It must have been better than here right?

I love this quote by the author of Marley and Me, John Grogan-
“A dog has no use for fancy cars or big homes or designer clothes. Status symbol means nothing to him. A waterlogged stick will do just fine. A dog judges others not by their color or creed or class but by who they are inside. “A dog doesn’t care if you are rich or poor, educated or illiterate, clever or dull. Give him your heart and he will give you his. It was really quite simple, and yet we humans, so much wiser and more sophisticated, have always had trouble figuring out what really counts and what does not”

Dogs bring me so much joy and there is no doubt they are responsible for much of my light hearted happy nature. While that sounds corny, I know the feeling of sitting on a green grassy lawn with the sun beating down lasts longer than buying a new pair of shoes. I know that when I wake up everyday, my husband and I laugh about something that one of our four dogs was doing during the night. Luke gets on the floor and rolls around with Bear every morning. I squeeze Sugars black little “ghetto dog” face. Lilah is usually under the covers and V ( I called her V) Vienna was stuck to me like glue when I would dance my way downstairs for coffee in a.m.

Because I am a morning person I could not wait to have a cup of coffee and walk around my garden before the girls woke up. The spring weather is LA has been hot. My blueberries keep surprising me so I hurry out every morning to see if I can start picking them.  Vienna would venture out confidently around my boxwoods and in and out of little hidden areas.  This is what I have to remember I suppose. The minutes. The moments. They are fleeting no matter what. I am always surprised to see people who are trying to capture every single moment by video tape or cameras.  It is hard to do both-Be present and tape?-But I raced to my iPhoto to find photos and videos funny enough- – And while I was scouring my computer for those very same videos yesterday to find any moments of  V-I remember the smell of the morning the most -the sweetest smell of jasmine blooming, the birds chirping in the morning and V running around.   The combination of aromatic coffee, early morning and sweet V is how I started my day grateful. I  need to remember happiness comes from a state of mind.

Today is my day to be grateful for those minutes. To be alive and healthy myself and to have the capacity to take in and care for those who can not care for themselves.  And gratitude, on any level is what really makes our hearts sing and keeps us grounded.
I love the quote-“To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.” What a short order in life to aspire to do.
Vienna, I love you and will never forget you and I will see you again one day.
Love Ruthie

2 thoughts on “Vienna

    1. ruthiesommers Post author

      Thank you. What a bummer. I miss that little dog . I was hoping for a sign or something silly today-We are at Hollister and I saw a V of pelicans flying.. Hmmm.
      oxx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

